News | 26 August 2020

The 3 Mile Race 2020

The 3 Mile Race - in the tradition of the Queensland King's Cup Trial Eight Match Race

Saturday 5th September

Proudly sponsored by Frasers Property and Hamilton Reach, the 3 Mile Race, a rowing event held in the tradition of the historic King's Cup, is taking place at Hamilton Reach on 5th September.

The Course

On Saturday 5th of September, five oarsmen and two oarswomen crews will battle down the Hamilton Heritage Course from Pinkenba to Bulimba.

Start Line: MacArthur Avenue Central, Pinkenba. Spectator Access via Airbus Warehouse

One Mile: Gateway Bridge, no spectator access.

Two Miles: Northshore Hamilton CityCat / Ferry Terminal. Spectators on the beach.

Finish (Three Miles): 60m dowstream of the Bretts Wharf Ferry Terminal. Spectator walkway access.

3 Mile Race Map

Departure Times

Crews will boat from Northshore Riverside Park from 9am and are expected to launch at 9:45am from the beach.

The races start at 10:40am (women's race) and 11am (men's race). Crews are expected to pass Northshore Riverside Park respectively at 10:50am and 11:10am and pass the finish line at 10:55am and 11:15am respectively.

Once the race has concluded, crews will return to the beach for a presentation at 11:45am.

Spectator Information

The best place to follow the crews is from the river, however spectators can enjoy the race from the bank with the best observation points being, Northshore Riverside Park and Portside Wharf. 

Please note that all spectators MUST comply with COVID-19 social distancing and safety precautions. Spectators in boats MUST observe the No Wash rule while crews are racing and comply with speed and proximity restrictions to all moored crafts between Northshore Hamilton CityCat terminal and the Gateway Bridge.

A Little Bit More History

The King’s Cup was first raced for in 1919 at the Henley Peace Regatta at the conclusion of the Second World War. The regatta was designed to occupy and honour allied soldiers awaiting repatriation after facing armed conflict in Europe. The King’s Cup was won by the Australian Imperial Forces crew against crews from Oxford, Cambridge, France, USA and New Zealand. By order of King George V, the trophy was gifted to Australia to be awarded in perpetuity to the winner of the annual Interstate Eights race. This first occurred in 1920 when the interstate race was held in Brisbane, with South Australia awarded the King’s Cup, which was at this point still in England, when they won along the 3 Mile Course in Hamilton.

That same year, a women’s interstate race was held for the first time along a ¾ Mile course in fours, starting at Northshore Riverside Park and finishing at Bretts Wharf. South Australia also won and were awarded the United Licensed Victuallers Association trophy (ULVA) which was raced for over the next 80 years. In 1999 the race was changed to an eights race and in 2003 the ULVA trophy was retired and the winner awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Cup, known as the Queen’s Cup.

Queensland has not won the King’s Cup in over 80 years with the last victory being on home water in 1939. In its 20-year history, only Victoria and New South Wales have ever won the Queen’s Cup with Queensland finishing second on seven occasions. Queensland had only won the ULVA trophy twice, the last time being 1990 in Tasmania.